Jesus’ third way is what I try to practice

 | 

Turn the other cheek. Hand over your cloak. Go for two miles. Do not turn your back on one who wants to borrow.

Don’t be a doormat. Stand up for yourself. Help others. Go the extra mile. Live mercifully. Share what you have with others.

I am struck by how often Walter Wink’s take on this Sunday’s Gospel continues to feed by spirit, my soul, my heart, and my actions. In The Powers That Be, Wink explains just how Jesus’ suggestion opens up a third response in each of us and our relationships. Wink writes:

“The Domination System is characterized by unjust economic relations, oppressive political relations, biased race relations, patriarchal gender relations, hierarchical power relations, and the use of violence to maintain them all.”

Read More Click Here

 

