What running with the pack taught me about solidarity – Global Sisters Report

“There is no way I’m leaving the house at 6:30 a.m. to go running. Especially when it’s dark outside. Especially when it’s cold outside. Especially when it’s cold and dark outside.”

Those were my initial thoughts last fall when I was invited and encouraged to join the half-marathon training brigade at our community house. I immediately made a mental list of excuses of why I couldn’t do it, but something pushed me past these excuses, and I agreed.

I love running; that wasn’t the problem. Part of the problem was motivation. Part of the problem was training in a group. Nine times out of 10, my runs and workouts were just me. I thought I preferred it that way. I just wanted to listen to my music and zone out for a while. I liked getting lost in my thoughts. For these reasons, I was hesitant about running with other people. I operated better on my own — or so I thought.

Continue Reading Here

 

One thought on “What running with the pack taught me about solidarity – Global Sisters Report

Comments are closed.